Release Date: 2004

Track Listing
1)  Electric Sunrise 7:40
2)  Sudden Mist 9:47
3)  Winds of Sorrow 14:33
4)  Faces In The Terrain 9:09
5)  Riding The Shaman's Drum 6:03
6)  Beyond The Mountain Top 7:20
7)  Cliff of Fate 11:49
8)  Acoustic Sunset 9:01

  Web Site
  AMG Entry

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O      P   Q   R   S   T   U      V   W   X   Y   Z   #   New   By Author
Member: ffroyd (Profile) (All Album Reviews by ffroyd)
Date: 5/15/2004
Format: CD (Album)

Fireclan are an offshoot of Melting Euphoria. Current members, Mychael Merrill and Luis 'Zero' Davillia have gotten together with former member Don Falcone while Melting Euphoria is on hiatus. These three along with a few guests (who I'll mention shortly) have produced a brilliantly beautiful space rock opus entitled Sunrise To Sunset.

The first couple of tracks on this album are in the familiar Ozric Tentacles/Melting Euphoria style but things get much deeper as the album progresses. They open things up with "Electric Sunrise" which starts out with peaceful bird sounds and then they waste no time in bringing out the guest star on the album Mr. Daevid Allen who really needs no introduction to most space rock fans. Daevid plays a soothing lead intro that perfectly starts the piece. "Sudden Mist" is similar but in a more hypnotic way.

One of my favorites from the album is the fourteen and a half minute "Winds of Sorrow", a very lush sounding track with guest Kirk Heydt accompanying the band on cello. This one reminds me a little of Simon House in parts. "Faces In The Terrain" features tons of great droning synth sounds for a very trippy and spacey song. This one has a bit of a Tangerine Dream feel. Daevid Allen makes another appearance here on glissando guitar.

As the title suggests, "Riding The Shaman's Drum" has a much more tribal feel concocted entirely from various percussion instruments including things like the djembe, dumbeks, rainsticks, udu and various shakers. Very nice change of pace on the CD to bring in the organic percussion to offset all the synthesizers.

"Beyond The Mountain Top" is another peaceful mellow track with lots of great electronic textures and incidental percussion. "Cliff of Fate" is one of the more adventurous moments on the album. Things get a little bit funky and there is an almost industrial feel at times. This brings us to the closing number "Acoustic Sunset" which in my opinion was somewhat inappropriately named. It's not really very acoustic sounding at all. There are lots of layered synths and the percussion sounds somewhat alien too. It is however, a beautiful track and an excellent end to a wonderful album. I guess the title is irrelevant.

For those of you out there who've been waiting patiently for a new Melting Euphoria disc, this should definitely satisfy your needs. Most of it is quieter and more atmospheric but it should be an excellent addition to any space rock collection.
payday loan cash national payday loans good payday loan companies

Copyright for this content resides with its creator.
Licensed to Progressive Ears
All Rights Reserved